The most beautiful renaissance building in Celje was built between 1580 and 1603 along the southern section of the town walls, on the site where the administrative and agricultural buildings of the Celje's Lower Castle were previously located.
Arcades, or vaulted hallways, were added in the early 17th century. After World War II, it was inaugurated as the Celje Regional Museum. In addition to the permanent collections, the visitors can admire the famous Celje ceiling, discovered and restored in the 1930s. Behind the building, there is an open-air lapidarium showcasing the remains from the Roman Celeia.